Chelsea Player Of The Year Award Winners From 2003 to Date.

Chelsea player of the year award winners from 2003 to date reveals the Blues players with the best or outstanding performance each year. In case you have forgotten, it was in 2003 that Russian billionaire Roman Abramovich bought Chelsea football club and since then he has led the club to great success. Additionally, the Chelsea Player of the Year award is presented at the ending of each season to the most outstanding player after voting is conducted.

As accumulated by Sportyleagues from numerous trusted sites, the winners of the Chelsea Player of the Year award from 2003 to date are highlighted below. Personally, I think you should read on to know the players who have won the Chelsea player of the year award since the 2003 takeover.

1. Gianfranco Zola (2003) –

player of the year zola

Gianfranco Zola mostly played as a forward throughout his playing career. Of all the clubs he played for throughout his career, his moments are Chelsea was the most successful of all. Furthermore, in 2003, Chelsea’s fans voted him as the player of the year after he had an outstanding performance among all. However, the 2002/03 season was his last season as a player of Chelsea FC. Recently, he was appointed as Chelsea assistant coach from 2018 – 2019 under Mauricio Sarri.

2. Frank Lampard (2004, 2005, & 2009) –

player of the year lampard

Frank Lampard was the first Chelsea to win the Player of the season thrice with the first two coming consecutively. As far as I know, he is Chelsea’s greatest midfielder ever. Furthermore, he is among the greatest midfielder of his generation and of all time. Additionally, Lampard is a three-time Chelsea player of the year award winner. Currently, the former England midfielder is the head coach of the Chelsea football club.

Read also: Five Managers Who Were Former Footballers Of The Team They Coach.

3. John Terry (2006) –

player of the year terry

John Terry is the most successful captain of the Chelsea football club. He is among the greatest Centre defenders of his generation and in the world. Furthermore, he was first voted Chelsea player of the year in 2001 before claiming the award for the second time in 2006. However, the former England captain is among the five players who have made over 500 appearances for Chelsea.

4. Michael Essien (2007) –

player of the year essien

Michael Essien is a professional footballer who plays as a midfielder for Danish Superliga club FC Nordsjaelland. He is a player and also among the coaching staff of the club. Additionally, the most popular moment of his career was with Chelsea from 2005 – 2014. Essien not only won Chelsea’s player of the year award but also won the goal of the season award for the 2006/07 campaign.

Read also: The Most Valuable XI Of The Premier League {2020}.

5. Joe Cole (2008) –

player of the year Cole

Currently, Joe Cole is Chelsea’s academy coach. He played as an attacking midfielder and sometimes a winger during his playing career. He had his most successful spell with Chelsea from 2003 to 2010 where he won seven major trophies. However, he was actually signed as a replacement for Gianfranco Zola who they recently released. Furthermore, he won his one and only Chelsea player of the year award in 2008 after an outstanding performance that took them to the UEFA Champions League final.

6. Didier Drogba (2010) –

Didier Drogba was best Known during his stint at Chelsea, he is the club’s fourth all-time highest goal scorer. Additionally, he is among Chelsea’s greatest players of all time. The former Ivorian striker is the first African to score 100 Premier League goals. Furthermore, he won the Chelsea player of the year award only once throughout his stay despite memorable moments with the club.

Read also: Everything You Need To Know About Neymar Jr.

7. Petr Cech (2011) –

player of the year cech

Currently, Petr Cech has a combined role of a player and a technical/performance advisor for Chelsea FC. On the 20th of October 2020, Cech was included in Chelsea’s 25-man Premier League squad for the 2020/21 season. In addition to that, his inclusion was on a non-contract basis but as an emergency goalkeeper cover due to COVID 19 pandemic’s effect on football. However, he is a one-time Chelsea player of the year winner.

8. Juan Mata (2012 & 2013) –

Juan Mata is not only among the most successful Chelsea former player of all time but also among the greatest attacking midfielder of his generation. In addition, he won the UEFA Champions League and the Emirates FA Cup in his debut season, which earned him the Chelsea player of the year award. His second season with Chelsea was equally successful because he won the UEFA Europa League and also the Player of the Year award for the second time in a row.

Read also: Top Ten Teams With The Highest UEFA Coefficient Points.

9. Eden Hazard (2014, 2015, 2017, & 2019) –

Eden Hazard is the record holder of the Chelsea Player of the Year award having won the reward on four different occasions. He is among the best players in the world. In addition, he helped the Blues to win the League Cup and the English Premier League title in the 2014/15 campaign and their fans awarded him by voting him the winner of the player of the year award. In his final season at Chelsea, he facilitated them to defeat their close rivals Arsenal in the final of the UEFA Europa League by scoring two goals. However, Eden Hazard is a four-time winner of the Chelsea Player of the Year award. Currently, he plays for Real Madrid.

10. Willian (2016) –

Willian was very outstanding for Chelsea in the 2015/16 campaign. He was among the European best freekick takers after scoring so many goals from the set-piece. In addition, he helped the Blues qualify for the UEFA Champions League knockout stage and was included in the UEFA Champions League group stage top XI. On the 13th of May 2016, he was voted by the Blues fans as the Player of the Year. The Brazilian star currently plays for Chelsea’s rivals Arsenal.

Read also: The Biggest Win In The Dutch Eredisivie’s History

11. N’golo Kante (2018) –

N’golo Kante is among the best Chelsea players and he is the first outfield player after Eric Cantona to win the EPL title consecutively with different clubs. In addition, his performance was superb for Chelsea in the 2017/18 campaign as they defeated Man Utd in the Emirates FA Cup final. Later on, the French midfielder was voted the winner of the Player of the Year award.

12. Mateo Kovacic (2020) –

Mateo Kovacic is the latest and current holder of the Chelsea player of the year award. He is a versatile midfielder, having played different positions and adapted as an attacking midfielder. However, he was the fans’ favourite for the 2019/20 campaign so he won the Player of the year award.

Spread the love

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.