Countries With The Highest AFCON Title.

The CAF Africa Cup of Nations also referred to as AFCON is the main international men’s football competition in Africa and it is authorised by the Confederation of African Football. It was first held in 1957.


Read on to know the most successful countries in the tournament-


1.Egypt – 7 titles

They are the most successful in the AFCON history, winning the trophy for a record of seven times. Egypt won the inaugural edition of the cup in 1957 and went on to win it six other times in 1959, 1986, 1998, 2006, 2008 and 2010, three of which was won on their home soil.


2.Cameroon  – 5 titles

Republic Of Cameroon are the second most successful country in the cup history due to their five times triumph.The five time AFCON winners managed to reach the finals on three basis winning the trophy twice in 1984 and 1988.They have also won the AFCON on three others occasions in 2000, 2002 and 2017.


3.Ghana – 4 titles

Gold coast currently known as Ghana has won the AFCON Title on four basis in 1963, 1965, 1978, and 1982.They won last Africa cup of Nations title in 1982 after defeating Libya on penalties in the final to become the champions.


4. Nigeria – 3 titles

The Three time African cup of Nations won their recent title in 2013 where they eliminated Burkina Faso in the final, they also won bronze at the 2019 edition when they defeated Tunisia 1-0 in the third place playoff match.The Super Eagles won their other two titles in 1980 and 1994.


5.Algeria – 2 titles

The current champions of the Africa Cup Of Nations won their first title in 1990 making it two when they won the recent 2019 AFCON Title where they defeated Senegal 1-0 in the final.


6.Ivory Coast – 2 titles

Ever since 2006, Cote d’ivoire has become a stationary side in the world cup and they have won the AFCON on two basis, recently in 2015. Ivory coast are considered to be one of the best teams of the last decade as their starman Didier Drogba is the best African Footballer, they were also AFCON champions in 1992.


7.DR Congo – 2 titles

They are considered as one of the successful teams in the tournament and are also a major participant in the Africa Cup Of Nations having 19 appearances in all AFCON tournaments.They won the title with two different names, Congo-Kinshasa in 1968 and Zaire in 1974.



The following countries have been winners of the Africa Cup Of Nations only once –


Zambia (2012)

Tunisia (2004)

Ethiopia (1962)

Sudan (1970)

Morocco (1976)

South Africa (1996)

Congo (1972)


Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *