Countries With The Highest Copa America Trophy.

CONMEBOL Copa America is the main men’s football tournament contested among national teams. CONMEBOL and was founded in 1916 with the name South American Football championship.

It’s the oldest international football competition in the world. The competition determines the champion of South America out of 12 or 16 contestants.

Keep reading to be updated on the country with the highest Copa America title:

Countries With The Highest Copa America Trophy.

1.Uruguay – 15 times

They are the most successful team ever in the tournament. The 15 time Copa America winners took home the glory in the following years-(1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1956, 1959, 1967, 1983, 1987, 1995, 2011).


2.Argentina – 15 times

Argentina have hosted the Copa America the most times including the inaugural and they are one of the most successful teams in the tournament. They won the Copa America in the following years(1921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937, 1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1991, 1993)and were runner up also 14 times in 1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1959, 1967, 2004, 2007, 2015, 2016 and 2021.

This gives Lionel Messi his first international Trophy

READ ALSO: 10 Of The Most Successful Teams In Africa

3.Brazil – 9 times

Brazil are regarded as one of the most successful teams in the Copa America and also the most successful in the World Cup ever since inauguration. The 2019 winners of the tournament have also won the trophy 8 more times in 1919, 1922, 1949, 1989, 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2007 and have also lost in the final 11 times.


4.Paraguay – 2 times

Due to their appearance in some many final of the Copa America, they have established themselves as one of the successful teams of the tournament.Paraguay has featured in 6 finals and have only won two in 1953 and 1979.


5.Peru – 2 times

They were the recent runner up of the 2019 edition of the tournament making it the first time they feature in a final and didn’t win. Peru who won the trophy in 1939 and 1975 have been known as an effective side in the tournament.


6.Chile – 2 times

Chile have featured more in the final of the Copa America than winning it. They have played a total of six finals winning only two in 2015 and 2016 and have established themselves as an efficacious team in the tournament.


7.Bolivia – 1 time

In terms of success rate, Bolivia have a higher percentage due to their 1 out of 2 trophy wins. They featured in the 1963 Copa America final where they won their one and only title and went on to feature for the second time in 1997 but were defeated by Brazil.


8.Colombia – 1 time

The 2001 Copa America was hosted by Colombia and they won it as a compensation to their 1975 loss to Peru. They were crowned winners for the 2001 Copa America after they defeated Mexico 1-0 in the final.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *