Countries With The Highest World Cup Trophy

The world cup trophy is a well-contended trophy by many countries of the world. Some of the countries that have successfully taken home the trophy are :


8.Spain – 1 title

Spain won their one and only world cup title in 2010 when they defeated the Netherlands in the finals at Johannesburg, South Africa. Reaching 2010 final was Spain’s best performance in the World Cup, having previously finished fourth in 1950.

Andreas Iniesta broke the deadlock for Spain, four minutes from the end of the extra time which was the only goal of the game.


7.England – 1 title

England won their first-ever world cup in 1966 when they hosted it. The finals were played at their home ground in Wembley stadium, London to determine who takes the Jules Rimet trophy. The last fight was between England and Germany where the lions triumphed with 4-2 on the scoreboard.


6.France – 2 titles

They have won a total of two FIFA World cup since inception. The French national team won the World Cup because of their talent but also because Deschamps’ devotion to spirit has allowed their talent to flourish.

France won its first world cup title in 1998 where they defeated Brazil 3-0 in the finals. France won the World Cup for the second time by beating Croatia 4-2 in the final in 2018.


5.Argentina – 2 titles

Argentina is one of the most successful national football teams in the world, having won two World Cups in 1978 and 1986. Argentina has been runners up three times in 1930, 1990 and 2014. In 1978, Argentina hosted the world cup and retained the trophy while the 1986 world cup was hosted by Mexico.


4.Uruguay – 2 titles

They have won only two world cups since its inception. Uruguay where the host of the inaugural world cup in 1930 and they won the trophy leaving them as the team to win the first-ever world cup. Their second world cup triumph came in 1950 when they defeated Brazil 2-1 in the finals.


3.Italy – 4 titles

Italy is one of the most successful national teams in the history of the World Cup, having won four titles. They won their first-ever world cup in 1934 when they defeated Hungary 4-2. They won the remaining in 1938, 1982, and 2006.


2.Germany – 4 titles

Germany is one of the most successful national teams in international competitions, having won four World Cups (1954, 1974, 1990, 2014). Their recent success in the world cup came in 2014 when Mario Gotze scored a stunning extra-time goal to settle the 2014 FIFA World Cup Final in Germany’s favor, crowning the Europeans as champions with a 1-0 victory over Argentina at the Maracana.


1.Brazil – 5 titles

With five titles, Brazil is the most successful World Cup team and It’s one of the countries besides Argentina, Spain, and Germany to win a FIFA World Cup away from its continent. They are the most successful national team in the FIFA World Cup, being crowned winner five times: 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *