European Golden Boot Winner From 1996/97 To Date.

The European golden boot winner from the 1996/97 season to date features different prolific players who can not do without scoring a goal. In addition, the European golden boot is an award presented each season to the leading goal scorer in the league games of all European national leagues. Furthermore, the award is a sculpture of a football boot, but it is made of gold.

As revealed by the European Sports Media, the below-listed players are the winner of the European Golden Boot from 1996/97 to date. In addition, the European Golden Boot winner from 1997/98 are listed below according to the season they won it and the number of goals they used to earn the award.

1996/97: Ronaldo De Lima (Barcelona) – 34 goals.

Ronaldo de Lima was a multi-functional striker who has been an influence on some generation of strikers that followed him. In addition, the former Brazilian forward is among the greatest players of all time. Furthermore, he won the first and only European golden boot while in Barcelona in 1997. Finally, Ronaldo de Lima is the 1996/97 European golden boot winner.

1997/98: Nikolas Machlas (Vitesse) – 34 goals.

Nikolas Machlas is a Greek retired professional striker. He spent just three seasons at Vitesse with only the 1997/98 season being the most successful of all where he won the European golden boot award. However, the former Vitesse and Ajax forward were among the prolific players of his generation. He is the 1997/98 European golden boot winner.

Read also: De Bruyne Ready To Commit To Manchester City (FULL STORY)

1998/99, 2001/02: Mario Jardel (FC Porto/Sporting CP) – 36 goals, 42 goals.

Mario Jardel is among the most prolific strikers of his generation. In addition, his positioning on the field and his heading ability. The former Brazilian forward won his first European golden boot award at FC Porto in 1999 before joining Sporting CP in 2001 and also winning it in his debut season. In other words, Jardel is the 1999 and 2002 European golden boot winner.

1999/2000: Kevin Phillips (AFC Sunderland) – 30 goals.

Kevin Phillips is the only English player to have won the European golden boot award. In fact, he spent his entire career with an English club featuring for eight different sides. The former Englishman is the 2000 European golden boot winner. Following his retirement, he briefly went into management.

Read also: Everything You Need To Know About Neymar Jr.

2000/01: Henrik Larsson (Celtic) – 35 goals.

Henrik Larsson had not only a successful stint with Celtic but also a prolific period of his career. According to his country Sweden, he is among the greatest players who have ever featured in a competitive match for them. The former Swedish star is the 2001 European golden boot winner. Larsson is currently the assistant coach to Ronald Koeman in Barcelona.

2002/03: Roy Makaay (Deportivo La Coruna) – 29 goals.

Roy Makaay is among the most influential players of all time. In addition to that, he helped Deportivo La Coruna win their first-ever La Liga title in his debut season. Again, in his second season at the Spanish club, he won the European golden boot after scoring 29 goals of which was not beaten or matched by anyone. Moreover, the former Dutch striker is Deportivo La Coruna’s all-time highest goal scorer.

Read also: 2020 Top Ten Best Nigerian Footballers.

2003/04, 2004/05: Thierry Henry (Arsenal) – 30 goals, 25 goals.

Personally, I think Thierry Henry is the greatest player in the history of the English Premier League. The former French forward was not only among the most prolific strikers of his generation but also among the most prolific strikers of all time. Henry won the European golden boot consecutively in 2004 and 2005. The former Barcelona forward is Arsenal’s all-time highest goal scorer.

2004/05, 2008/09: Diego Forlan (Villareal/Atletico Madrid) – 25 goals, 32 goals.

Diego Forlan is among the most successful and prolific strikers of all time. His spell in La Liga was fruitful with the Uruguayan winning the Pichichi trophy and the European golden boot twice with Villareal in 2005 and Atletico Madrid in 2009. Forlan is a two-time European golden boot winner.

Read also: Things You didn’t Know About Cristiano Ronaldo

2005/06: Luca Toni (Fiorentina) – 31 goals.

Luca Toni is the fourth-highest scoring Italian player of all time. In addition to the previous text, he scored over 300 career goals. He is among the most prolific strikers of all time. The former Italian forward is the 2005/06 European golden boot winner.

2006/07: Francesco Totti (AS Roma) – 26 goals.

Francesco Totti was a creative attacking midfielder who was known for his goalscoring ability, foresight, and technique. The former Italian forward spent his entire career playing for AS Roma. As far as I know, he is the most capped and all-time highest goal scorer of the Italian club. He is among the most decorated Italian players of all time. Totti is the 2006/07 European golden boot winner.

Read also: Winning Ballon d’Or Doesn’t Keep Me Up At Night – Mbappe

2007/08, 2010/11, 2013/14, 2014/15: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United/Real Madrid) – 31 goals, 40 goals, 31 goals, 48 goals.

Cristiano Ronaldo is among the greatest players of all time and again among the best players in the world. The Portuguese captain has not only won four European golden boots but also five Ballon d’Or award. The four-time European golden boot winner is part of the few players to have scored over 700 senior career goals. He won the 2013/14 European golden boot jointly with Luis Suarez who was at the time a Liverpool striker. CR7 is Real Madrid’s all-time highest goal scorer.

2009/10, 2011/12, 2012/13, 2016/17, 2017/18, 2018/19: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) – 34 goals, 50 goals, 46 goals, 37 goals, 34 goals, 36 goals.

Lionel Messi is the most successful footballer in the European golden boot, he is a six-time winner of the European golden boot. The Argentine captain is also the record winner of the Ballon d’Or award. He is among the few players to have scored over 700 career goals. The six-time European golden boot winner holds the record for the most goal scored in a single season in Europe as well as the Spanish La Liga. He is La Liga and Barcelona’s all-time highest goal scorer.

Read also: Players With The Highest Assists From Year 2000.

2013/14, 2015/16: Luis Suarez (Liverpool/Barcelona) – 31 goals, 40 goals.

Luis Suarez has not only won the European golden boot but also the Premier League golden boot, Eredivisie golden boot, and also the Pichichi trophy. He is among the greatest strikers of all time and also part of the best players in the world. Furthermore, the Uruguayan forward has scored over 400 career goals. Suarez won his first European golden boot jointly with Cristiano Ronaldo in 2014. The two-time European golden boot winner is Uruguay’s all-time highest goal scorer.

2019/20: Ciro Immobile (Lazio) – 36 goals.

Ciro Immobile is the first non-Spain based player to win the European golden boot in over six to seven years. The 2019/20 campaign was the most prolific period of Immobile’s career. In addition, he is the latest European golden boot winner and the first Italian player to win it after Francesco Totti in 2007.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *