The Record Champions League Winners Across All Confederations

The Champions League is the biggest club competition in the world, oh at least the UEFA Champions League can lay claim to that.

As the name implies, the UEFA Champions League is a competition meant for serial winners, League winners, the biggest and best football clubs in Europe.

The winners always get to have the bragging rights for as long as they retain the title.The bragging rights lies with Spanish giants Real Madrid who has as many as 13 UEFA Champions League trophies in their cabinet, no other team comes close.

However, the UEFA Champions League is only for teams based in Europe and there are thousands of clubs around the world also play Champions League competitions. Few other clubs around the world also dominate their Confederations albeit not any has won as much as the Los Blancos has done with the UEFA Champions League.

Record Champions League Winners:

The Record Champions League Winners Across All Confederations
AL Ahly
Continent : Africa (CAF)
Country : Egypt
Stadium : Cairo International Stadium
Capacity : 100,000
No of Titles : 9 CAF Champions League wins

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) Champions League started as far back as 1964 but it took the Red Devils 18 years to win their very first.

The Egyptians first title came in 1982 when they defeated Ghanaians Asante Kotoko in the final of the competition.

Egyptian giants, African heavyweights whatever names you call them, the titles fit AL Ahly just like their nine CAF Champions League nine stars fit on their badge.

Al Ahly do not only dominate Africa, they dominate at the local level too with 42 Egyptian Premier League titles, 37 Egyptian cups.

To reinforce their dominance, they are also the defending champions of the competition while they have finished second place on four different occasions.

Let’s add a little bit of OMG, AL Ahly completed the 2005 season undefeated in all competitions. The Red Devils won all competitions available to them from the Egyptian Premier League, Egypt Cup, Egyptian Super Cup, and the CAF Champions League without losing a single game!!!

Even Real Madrid doesn’t have that kind of a record, but let’s check what the Spanish giants have.

The Record Champions League Winners Across All Confederations

Real Madrid
Continent : Europe (UEFA)
Country : Spain
Stadium : Santiago Bernabeau
Capacity : 84,000
No of Titles : 13 UEFA Champions League

29 appearances in the UEFA Champions League and European Cup brought 16 final appearances and 13 titles for the Los blancos.

They won all five first edition of the competition between 1956 to 1960.

The Los Blancos also had three consecutive triumphs from 2016 to 2018, the first team in the modern campaign to do that.

Any team that wants to meet or beat the standards has to win at least six titles before Real’s next UEFA Champions League triumph and that duty falls on AC Milan who has seven titles currently.

The Spanish side are not a fan of losing Champions League finals as they only finished runners up three times.

However, their last Champions League triumph came in 2018, it is left to be seen if the next win will take as long as it took to achieve the La Decima.

Twelve years it took Real between 2002 and 2014. Nevertheless, the Galaticos can be referred as the Champions of the Champions.

The Record Champions League Winners Across All Confederations

Continent : South America (CONMEBOL)
Country : Argentina
Stadium : Estadio Libertadores de América,
Avellaneda, Argentina
Capacity : 48, 069
No of Titles : 7 Copa Libertadores

Sleeping giants of CONMEBOL, Independiente has seven Copa Libertadores winning four in a row between 1972 and 1975.

Interestingly, they have never lost a final winning on all the seven occasions that they have managed to get to the final.

However, their last triumph at the Copa libertadores was in 1984 but no team has managed to beat their record.

Unlike other continental Champions on this list, Independiete has fallen from grace and even got relegated from the top flight in 2012 while their last league win was in 2002.

The King of Cups as they are called won the 2017 Copa Sudamericana, their last major trophy.

Three other Argentine clubs come close with Boca Juniors (6), River Plate and Estudiantes (4 each) in the top five most successful clubs in the Copa Libertadores.

READ ALSO: English Premier League: Highest Earning Defenders
The Record Champions League Winners Across All Confederations

Auckland City

Continent : Oceania
Country : New Zealand
Stadium : Kiwitea Street
Capacity : 3500
No of Titles : 9

Nine OFC Champions League cannot be compared to Nine CAF Champions League nor, even, seven Copa Libertadores titles.

No disrespect to Auckland City but competition in the Oceania Confederation is so weak and obvious.

Well what do you expect when you face teams from Fiji, Vanuatu, Solomons Island, Tahiti, New Caledonia, Samoa, Cooks Island, Tonga, Palau and Papua New Guinea.

Since Australia left the OFC for the AFC on 2006, it became easier for other Oceania clubs.

The team was formed in 2004 but won the OFC Champions League two years later on 2006.

They won seven consecutive titles between 2011 and 2017 but have not won any since then. To put more respect, they also have never lost a final at the OFC Champions League.


The Record Champions League Winners Across All Confederations

Club America
Continent : North America
Country : Mexico
Stadium : Estadio Azteca
Capacity : 87, 523
No of Titles : 7 CONCACAF Champions League.

13 Mexican Liga Mx titles, 6 Copa Mx and 7 CONCACAF Champions League are all records held by Club America, I mean, no club has won any of the three competitions more times than Club America.

Unfortunately, they haven’t won any since 2016 which help ensured that they retained the 2015 triumph.

The Mexican record League winners won their first title in 1977 and fellow Mexican-side Cruz Azul are the 2nd most successful with six titles.

Furthermore, Mexican clubs dominate the competition as only América, Cruz Azul, Pachuca and Monterrey have managed to retain the title at least once.


READ ALSO: Europa League: Top 5 Prospective Teams That Could Win The Title
The Record Champions League Winners Across All Confederations

AL Hilal/Pohang Steelers

Continent : Asia (AFC)
Country : Saudi Arabia / South Korea
Stadium : King Fahd International Stadium / Pohang Steel Yard.
Capacity : 68,752/17, 443
No of Titles : 3 AFC Champions League each

The competition in Asia is a bit tough and that is why for a tournament that has been 54 years has two teams as record owners with just three titles each.

A team from Saudi Arabia and a South Korean team have the record.

AL Hilal has played at seven finals in total, the most by any team in the competition, but they lost 4 finals and only won 3 times in 1999, 2000 and 2019 while they finished runners up in 1986, 1987, 2014 and 2017.

Pohang Steelers on the other hand have been consistent at winning the finals having never lost a title decider.

Their triumphs came in 1997, 1998 and 2009.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *