Three Most Honoured Footballers The World Won’t Forget.

Some players are referred as legends due to their performance and records set during their active footballing career. These Legends have helped their club and country to win some trophies during their playing or active career.
This post will reveal three players who are highly honoured and won’t be forgotten by the world. The footballers are all retired.
The following players are the most honoured footballers that the world won’t forget.

1. Diego Maradona

Diego Maradona is a retired Argentine footballer who was born on the 30th Of October, 1960. Maradona has so many memorable moments during his footballing career as a player that is why he is on the list. Maradona is an Argentine legend and his country will never forget him. During his active career, he played for Barcelona, Napoli, Boca Junior, Sevilla, Newell’s Old Boys, Argentinos Juniors and National team. He was very popular during his time at Barcelona and Napoli where he won so many special awards. He won one Copa Del Rey, One Spanish Cup and one Supercopa de Espana during his short stay at Barcelona and won two Serie A title, one Coppa Italia and one Supercoppa Italiana at Napoli.
Maradona was blessed with so many skills like vision, ball control skills, dribbling skills, passing skills, in addition, he possessed creative abilities, eye for goal and was a free kick specialist. Maradona nicknamed “The Golden Boy” was capped 91 times for Argentina and he scored 34 goals for them winning the FIFA World Cup in 1986 as their captain.
Diego Maradona is currently the head coach of Gimnasia de La Plata in the Argentine Primera Division.

Read also: The Best Teams In The Spanish La Liga In The Past Decade [2010 – 2020].

2. Pele

Pele is a honoured and memorable Brazilian footballer who was born on the 23rd Of October, 1940. He is a retired footballer and was widely renowned as the greatest player of all time. During his active career, he played for only two clubs which are Santos in Brazil and New York Cosmos in the United States Of America. He was a prolific goalscorer for club and country, he is the all time highest goalscorer of Santos where he played almost all his career. He won 6 Campeonato Brasileiro Serie A title, 2 Copa Libertadores, 2 Intercontinental Cup, 1 Intercontinental Super Cup, 10 Campeonato Paulista, and 4 Torneio Rio Sao Paulo during his stay at Santos.
Pele won three FIFA World Cup with Brazil which is the highest number a player has won in history. The Three times World Cup winner earned 92 caps for Brazil and scored 77 goals putting himself as the all time highest goalscorer of Brazil.
Pele won so many personal awards like the Brasileiro Serie A top scorer on three different occasions, the FIFA Player Of The Century in 2000, 7 Ballon D’or award, FIFA Centennial Award in 2004, FIFA World Cup Best Young Player in 1958, FIFA World Cup Golden Ball (Best Player) in 1970 and many more.

Readalso: The Best Team In The Italian Serie A In The Past Decade [2010 – 2020].

3. Zinedine Zidane

Zinedine Zidane was honoured as a player and has also being honoured as a manager. He is currently the manager of Spanish La Liga Champions Real Madrid. Zidane was born on the 23rd Of June, 1972 and is a retired professional French midfielder. He played for four clubs during his active career which are Cannes, Bordeaux, Juventus and Real Madrid. Real Madrid was where he ended his footballing career and has now picked up his managerial career from there.
Zidane won one Italian Serie A title, one Supercoppa Italiana, one UEFA Super Cup, one Intercontinental Cup and one UEFA Intertoto Cup during his stay at Juventus and won one Spanish La Liga title, two Supercopa de España, one UEFA Champions League, one UEFA Super Cup and one Intercontinental Cup during his tenure at Real Madrid as a player.
Zidane earned 108 caps for France and scored 31 goals winning the FIFA World Cup in 1998 after scoring two goals in the final, he also won the UEFA European Championship in 2000 and was named the best player of the competition.
The French man won some individual awards like the French Division 1 Young Player of the Year in 1994, French Division 1 Player of the Year in
1996, Serie A Foreign Footballer of the Year in 1997 and 2001, FIFA World Cup Golden Ball in 2006, UEFA Best European Player Of The Past 50 years in 2004, Ballon D’or award in 1998, Serie A top assist provider and best player in 2001 and many more.

Spread the love

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.